Even

Over the last few days I have been in a reflective mood. Yesterday I spent time with Harrison – just the two guys. It was at his request and I had been thinking about the two of us just taking time to hang out so it was an answer to a heart longing for both of us. We played football, walked, went to some stores he wanted to visit, ran some errands, looked for some books for him, chatted constantly, and played chess. This morning I had some time with him to talk about my relationship with my father, how that has shaped me, what my father taught me and how I am trying now to teach him. We read from Colossians 3:21 “Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.” I talked to him about how I worry that my ‘dark’ side embitters him (we looked that word up in the dictionary). We prayed and then played chess. I’m joyful for the time we spent but also keenly aware of how I fail him/my children and the need to be in communion with God and others (mainly my wife) to help me avoid embittering our children. It made me get into an ‘even’ mood. I like that.